Reflections

This term at University has flown by and I have really enjoyed this digital project. When we first got the brief with the three theme, I was quick to choose Urban Beat as my theme. I thought it was perfect, describing the work that I have done previously and what I am truly interested in, which is Urban Exploring. The words: decay, raw, edgy, urban, gritty and industrial express my constant theme in art work, as you can probably tell.

I already had previous experience with Adobe Photoshop, so using this program within the project I found really easy. However, attempting to learn and use Adobe Illustrator I found a lot harder, because it is so different to Photoshop. But eventually I have found interesting ways to use the program. The designs I have created I think show my true passion for this theme and I hope you can see that threw my work. Artists like photographers Marchand and Meffre and print designer like Miss Print have really inspired my work this term. Marchand and Meffre due to there themes and beautiful photographs, and Miss Print because of there simple yet effective designs. I have also found it useful working alongside Lucy and getting her input about my project, because she is part of the current print industry. I have had an insight into how the process of designing occurs and have found this helpful in thinking about my future potential.

I have now finished and chosen my final six designs, made headers ready for my show and created my Pecha Kucha presentation. I am so excited to show of my work, as I think I have worked hard this term and created a good outcome that stays true to the original brief. Never the less, I am normally a confident person, but the idea of presenting my Pecha Kucha presentation is so nerve racking, knowing that I need to stay in time with the presentation and say everything I need to in such a short space of time. But lets just prey for the best.

For my show I have chosen a beautiful bronze piece of card to head all of my work. To keep within my industrial theme. I think this works well and looks very professional. Also with my new skills that I have learnt I have created a beautiful piece of extra work using this bronze card and the laser cutter. I drew out a cog design on Photoshop and transported it into Illustrator to create an outline for this. I then waited 30 minutes for it to be cut out and placed it on black card so it stands out. Which I think will add something extra to my show.

I really hope people see my work and can see I am passionate about it. I now see the potential in digital textiles for my future career and am excited about the future and what it will bring me.

Leave a Reply

