Autumn Festival- The Forbidden City

Today myself, Rosie, Alice, Rob, George and Hongbon took a trip to Forbidden City. I wasn’t sure what I was expecting, because before we went I had never read any of the history of the attraction. But since I’ve been home, I have read more about the attraction.

It was the Chinese imperial palace for the Ming Dynasty. It is Located in the centre of Beijing and now houses the palace Museum. It served as the home of the emperors and their households as well as a ceremonial and pollination centre for the Chinese government for almost 500 years.

The whole sight consists of 980 buildings and covers 180 acres. It consists of traditional  Chinese architecture and has influenced cultural and architectural development in East Asia and else where. It was declared a World Heritage Site in 1987 and is listed as the largest collection of preserved ancient wooden structures in the world.

It was much larger then I ever felt possible and the heat was just incredible. It took us 3+ hours to walk threw the whole of the sight. But the sights I saw were amazing. Like nothing I had ever seen before. The sheer amount of work that went into each and every building, and just how big the court yards were. It said online it took 14 years and over 1 million people to build the entire sight.

Way to good to be shown threw a picture. However, I took so many photos. Take a look:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After we had visited the Forbidden City, Hongbon took us for dinner in central Beijing. Which turned out to be really good. We then found this market area where they had stalls selling bizarre food and more Chinese souvenirs. I bought myself some awesome looking chopsticks, a lucky cat and some panda postcards to send back home. I was super happy with my purchases today and I think everyday we are seeing more of the Chinese culture and exploring the city. I am really having a great time, I couldn’t of wished for better people to travel with me, and met along the way. But this is literally only the first week. We shall see whats in store for the next three months.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

