Garment Making Class-PVC Skirt

Today I tried my luck at making a skirt alk my self out of pvc. I thought this would be an interesting challenge considering the previous fabric I had used was thin and stretchy, but this was thick and sticky. I first all off tested out some difficult parts of the method on a sample piece. First of all I stitched a zip, but my teacher came and told me I hasn’t stitched close enough to the zip, so I was aware and prepared to stitch the zip onto my skirt closer to the zip itself. I also attempted a seem and neatining the edge with a 0.5cm edge and a 1cm edge. I decided to use the 1cm edge because the pvc looked ripped with such a short fold and stitch.
When I cut my fabric I didn’t account for the seem at the back of the skirt to allow for the zip, so straight away I thought I’d messed up but I continues anyway. My design for this skirt was to make it half red and half yellow with pvc and opposite coloured waistbands!
My first attempt at the zip I thought went really well. I kept super close to the zip like my teacher told me but because of the awkwardness of the fabric being tough the zip broke within seconds because it didn’t have the stretch in the fabric to allow it to move properly. I unpicked it and really done it making it slightly looser but this zip was also very sensitive.
This fabric is very awkward to work with because if you stitch into it, you can’t undo the marks made by the needle so it realistically needed to be perfect first time around.
I then started to attach the waistband which was a complete mess but somehow has turned out okaii. Measuring out how big it needed to be so I could stitch the red and yellow together to then iron was very awkward. I wanted the seams to match up perfectly so I got the third year to help me measure out the waist band against the skirt length. I then attempted to iron the pvc so that it would have a neat crease across it, but pvc really shouldn’t be ironed. It became thin and sticky when it became hot, but luckily didn’t stick to the iron or melt. I quickly stopped and once it became cold, it went back to normal. I just settled knowing it wouldn’t be perfect.
Afterward I started stitching down the first side of the waist band to the skirt length. I started at the seem to make sure it was perfectly matching. Things got a little awkward at both ends where I had forgotten to stitch both ends right sides together and turn it inside out, but luckily I started at the seem so this wasn’t to big of an issue.
Unfortunately cm’s before I had finished stitching the first part of the waist band down the zip broke again so I quickly unpicked it and stitched down a new zip but a lot further way from the zip giving it more room to move. I’m clearly now a master at stitching this type of zip now.
Lastly I then attempt to fold over the last piece of the waist band and tuck it in leaving 0.1 extra in comparison to the front of the skirt. I started stitching using the sewing machine and measuring the fabric by eye and touch piece by piece. This was maybe to challenging for a non fashion student who was using an fabric that couldn’t be ironed. I somehow managed to change the crease making the fabric ruffle and ended up hand stitching the rest. Although it doesn’t look 100% perfect I am really impressed I completed it myself with this choice of fabrics and got the seams to match perfectly. I think this I a huge accompaniment for ah textiles student who before this trip really disliked the idea of fashion.
But maybe if I was to do it again I might add embellishment to the design before stitching it together, make it more interesting. I think now I feel comfortable creating another skirt like this for my research and development class with with a different fabric.

Leave a Reply

