New Motifs, New Ideas

So I’ve been attempting to do more drawing, and after visiting Cyberdog last week, I got tons of inspiration from looking at the clothes and accessories, wall art and colours. Since them I have come up with six new model drawings, five of which I have taken forward and make a collective group, including my previous two which I drew in China.

motif body7

I have since put this image onto a screen ready to screen print. When I spoke to Helen today about this she suggested it might be a cool idea to give them all names and make a collection of stationary for each of the body motifs. I thought this was particularly cool, so I started looking for awesome futuristic names, some of which I think are really creative. Solar-Jexa, Zon, Zarilah, Nova, Venus, Azarea and Luna. In that order. I then player around with different colours and repeat patterns for the collection of body motifs.

After looking at patterns, I started thinking about creating mock-ups of products for these motifs. I first thought about creating book marks, for each of the motifs. Its a quirky idea for my ideal customer however, its fun and I think gives each customer a sense of personality, that they can choose which ever they like best. I then went onto looking at books, borders and and coordinating patterns. I got this really good idea because there is 7 of them, that I could create a diary, and each day would be a different body. So I attempted a little mock up of this idea, which I think would be really fun, but I need to look into how diary’s look, what kind of sections they contain, because I’d want it to be interactive and fun. The coordinating patterns were just an idea, but I think it needs a lot more work.

I have also been playing around with these three motifs inspired by my time in Shanghai. I wanted to play around with more interesting/random motifs that are still quite relatively simple. This is a repeating stripe pattern in three different colour ways. I think looking at all three, I personally preferred the purple, pink and blue colour scheme because I think it works the best for my customer. I then tested out one mockup with this pattern but using it as a stripe rather then a complete pattern as it just makes things slightly different and more interesting.

Leave a Reply

