Final Collection

After being inspired by my trip to china, and wanting to continue my research and development project that I initially started while at university in Beijing. I decided to continue with the theme looking at the WGSN trend for Spring/summer 2017 called digital wave, but also taking influences from 60’s space age fashion motifs.

When I was in China I was studying fashion, so I was looking less at patterns and more shapes, in particular looking at the human body. When I returned home to start this new project looking at fabric samples of patterns, I thought it might be harder for me to continue working towards a fashion outcome and moved onto stationary.

For my hypothetical brief for this project, I choose the store Cyber Dog, a futuristic fashion and accessories store based online and in four major cities in the UK, as the company to work for. I choose this store because it is so interesting and elaborate of the futuristic theme, which is what I wanted to portray in my work. The fashion could be called wacky, or out of this world if you wanted to be funny, but its different and I thought it would inspire me to be more creative with motifs and fabrics. It was after I visited the store in Camden, London, when I began to draw more of the fashion illustrations, because all of the different shapes were so inspiring, not to mention the colours and patterns. Cyber Dog have never launched a stationary brand previously, which made it more fun because I have nothing to compare it to, but also it would be a unique selling point if it was to end up in there stores.

I started working with fun and quirky motifs, some of which were inspired by my travels to Shanghai. I picked colours for my collection mostly based on the digital wave collection on WGSN, but I specifically chose bright colours because I wanted the final outcomes to be stand out visually. With my first set of motifs I applied different colours multiple times to see what colours worked together and decided that the green blue and yellow worked best, with some pink. But also the purple, red and pink worked together. I struggled to combine them all because there is a lot of colours in my colour scheme.

From the beginning I was very concentrated working with the spaceship motif, and I played around with lots of different patterns and colours to see what would work best. It was only until I screen printed the design that I realised It was working for a much younger target market then I had originally thought about creating for. Which meant most of my work up until this point was irrelevant to my project. This is then when I started to think about circuit boards and more fashion illustrations because these patterns seemed more mature and slightly raunchy which is where I was heading with the futuristic theme.

I drew out eight different fashion illustrations, with inspiration from many websites, including Cyber Dog. But in the end I choose the best seven and ended up giving them futuristic names like: Venus and Solar-Jexa. It worked out pretty well considering I was looking at stationary and these illustrations could work well for diary’s, so with there being seven, there was one for every day of the week. Which I have shown in my cad visuals.

I am practically proud of how much I have learnt since returning from my Erasmus. I have tested and gained so many valuable skills, including learning how to screen print again but also using multiple screens for one design, and how to digital stich. I think some of my best work was created using the digital stich onto the plastics. Although I am sad that I can’t use it for anything else, I love the textures it brings to my work. Especially with the stitch on top. I think it’s a very interesting idea to use them together because the plastic is so smooth and clean, but the stitch adds an element of hand-made crafted art to it. Giving the samples more character. I want my samples to be interesting to touch because after all you would be holding a notebook and it would be more interesting if the textures were fun.

My final samples came out really well. Showing lots of different skills and I believe to be presented very clean and professionally. I wanted to showcase all my skills on the chosen six samples, However I did mount the theme corresponding designs together and wanted to showcase that as one design rather then three individuals, although the top print is the most important in my eyes. I wanted to show I have looked into lots of techniques during this projects and tested both on paper, fabrics and plastics with many different motifs that work together, correctly for my target market which I think I have managed very well. I have used my time wisely and thought about ways to develop this further by given each of my illustrations names to make this project come to life and slightly more personal. Although I have thought about my market competitors, I have never seen anything quite like this with bold prints and the use of plastics. I think these designs are unique and interesting which is why I think I am so passionate to continue more work with these themes.

 

17500107_10210959172322544_1987519272_o

If I was to continue this project and develop it further, I would be very inclined to test UV paints and find similar fabrics which I could laser cut into or emboss. I think these ideas create an even more futuristic fantasy impression, which in its self is quite edgy and fun. But I think overall this project has been very successful and I have really enjoyed it. My final collection are all well linked with the theme and produced to a high standard which I am most pleased with.

 

Leave a Reply

