New Title

After seeing the third years work, Its been really inspiring to me to continue with my project in new and interesting ways. One of which is a title for mu project and perhaps a new font?

I chose the title ‘AND I SURVIVE”. Which I got of the video in my previous post, from the Gigi space Odyssey piece by Harpers Bazaar. The music I found so interesting and deep, not only this, but I thought this collection of words could work very well to my target market because some may think it’s edgy and goes with the space theme which I think it does. Many people have lost there lives attempting to gain more knowledge of outer space, but many like Neil Armstrong have managed to overcome the fear and survived this adventure.

But if I’m thinking about this on a much deeper level, I want to point out that being a young aged girl in education. With lots of pressure on you to look good and do well in your studies, many people (not only girls) suffer with different forms of depression and anxiety. Which I think is like a bigger meaning behind the words, to me anyway. This is something I want to subtly suggest in these words. But to whom ever may be reading this, they can take on there own ideas of what the words can mean.

I started playing around with the idea of using this title, first of all with the font I have been using throughout this project, which is cleverly called transformers. thinking about it now, it just seems slightly boring, its not WOW enough for me, especially with this title. I continued looking anyway and found three others that I liked the look of called: Locus Resistance, Skirmisher and Rapier. The second one to me jumps out the most because the texture on the letters created the impression of a rock or perhaps the moon? Plus because the text is bold I think it creates a lasting effect. The third one, in my head now looks to me as if its a quirky Japanese font, which although some people told me they like best, I don’t think it works for my project. The last one also looks quirky, with emphasis on the A and R which I like but it’s just not as bold as the second one, and when I consider my project, I want it to make a lasting impact on people. Thats why I’ve chosen to change my font and use this second font here in the image called Locus Resistance. I’ve tested them all out in multiple colours, within my colour pallet and think it looks best in blue and the shiny silver I’ve attempted to create.

title2

With my new title and font chosen I wanted to put it onto my mock ups to see how effective they were. Here’s what I created: Let me know what you think.

Personally I felt like I was struggling to find three designs that collectively worked together, making them all interesting and all visually pleasing each one on it’s own. But I think this collection of three works really well. They all contain similar colours, interesting motifs, and the text stands out and works well I think.

Leave a Reply

